SNP reject Withdrawal Agreement in European Parliament Committee

Today Aileen McLeod MEP for Scotland voted against the EU-UK withdrawal agreement in the Constitutional Affairs Committee of the European Parliament.

Although the Withdrawal Agreement was opposed by the SNP, the Committee recommended, by 23 votes to 3, that the full Parliament approve the motion next week at the plenary session in Brussels.

Aileen said:

"Today was a very difficult and disappointing day. I understand the reasons why my colleagues from the other EU 27 member states have approved this agreement, it is tragic that Scotland is being dragged from our European family of nations.

"This was not a vote of confidence and the Committee chair made clear his deep regret that this day had come to pass. The Committee expressed a number of important reservations regarding EU citizens’ rights and the European Parliament will continue to stand up for these in the next phase of the negotiations on the future UK-EU relationship. I was also touched that the Committee reached out to the UK MEPs that are leaving the Committee because of Brexit. I too want to wish all the very best to my colleagues for their futures.”

“Sadness aside the reality now is simple. Independence is our only way back into the EU and the people of Scotland must be given the choice.”

The full opinion can be found here: